CSB

Stanford School of Medicine

Chemical & Systems Biology

 
 

Faculty

Matthew Bogyo, Ph.D.

Professor

Joint with the Department of Pathology


Research Interests:

Proteolytic pathways involved in cancer, inflammation and infectious disease. Use of small molecules to image protease activity, design of protease inhibitors and therapeutic applications.


 

Contact Info:

mbogyo@stanford.edu
650-725-4132
Edwards R-343
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Bogyo Lab »
Edwards R313, R315, R317, R341
650-725-6981

Admin. Assistant Info:

N/A


James K. Chen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Research Interests:

Developmental signaling pathways and their roles in embryonic patterning and oncogenesis; zebrafish models of tissue patterning and regeneration; synthetic chemistry and chemical biology.


 

Contact Info:

jameschen@stanford.edu
650-725-3582
CCSR Room 3155C
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Chen Lab »
CCSR 3150
650-725-4184

Admin. Assistant Info:

Stuart Jeung
stuartj7@stanford.edu
650-736-2999
CCSR 3155

Karlene Cimprich, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Research Interests:

Genome stability pathways and their roles in cancer and other human diseases; DNA damage response pathways and DNA replication; the interface between RNA processing and transcription with genome stability.


 

Contact Info:

cimprich@stanford.edu
650-498-4720
Clark W350
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Cimprich Lab »
Clark W350
650-498-5011

Admin. Assistant Info:

Stefani Ferreira
sferreir@stanford.edu
650-725-4209
Clark W352

Markus Covert, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint with the Department of Bioengineering


Research Interests:

Building computational models of complex biological processes to guide an experimental program and accelerate discovery.


 

Contact Info:

mcovert@stanford.edu
650-725-6615
Clark Center W153
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Covert Lab »
Clark Center W1.1

Admin. Assistant Info:

Kimberly Chin
kimchin@stanford.edu
650-724-1760
Clark Center W1.1

Justin Du Bois, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Joint with the Department of Chemistry


Research Interests:

Voltage-gated ion channel trafficking and regulation; influence of glial cells on channel expression; molecular design, chemical synthesis, and homology modeling; electrophysiology and imaging.


 

Contact Info:

jdubois@stanford.edu
650-724-4557
Lokey Chemistry & Biology

Lab Info:

Lokey Chemistry & Biology Building 230
650-724-4558

Admin. Assistant Info:

Flora Vazquez
fvazquez@stanford.edu
650-724-7306
Mudd 185

Joshua Elias, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


Research Interests:

New mass spectrometry-based experimental and computational tools that advance the field of proteomics; applying them to important diseases including cancer, heart disease and autoimmunity.


 

Contact Info:

josh.elias@stanford.edu
650-724-3422
Clark W300
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Elias Lab »
Clark W300
650-723-6121

Admin. Assistant Info:

Sarah Alexander
salex2@stanford.edu
650-724-2971
Clark W2.1

James E. Ferrell, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.

Professor


Research Interests:

Cell cycle regulation, especially M-phase regulation, in Xenopus embryos and mammalian cell lines; systems biology of signal transduction pathways.


 

Contact Info:

james.ferrell@stanford.edu
650-725-0765
CCSR 3155A
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Ferrell Lab »
CCSR 3160
650-725-0793

Admin. Assistant Info:

Stuart Jeung
stuart7@stanford.edu
650-736-2999
CCSR 3155

Kevin Grimes, M.D.

Consulting Professor


Research Interests:

Translation of promising research discoveries into novel therapeutics and diagnostics; discovery and development of new drugs, biologics, and diagnostics; repurposing existing drugs against new targets for new clinical indications; developing novel therapeutics and diagnostics for neglected global health problems.


 

Contact Info:

kgrimes@stanford.edu
650-721-6185
CCSR 3145C
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Spark Program »

Admin. Assistant Info:

Michelle Pualuan
mpualuan@stanford.edu
650-498-7907
Li Ka Shing Building, Room LK3C25

Oleg Jardetzky, M.D., PH.D.

Professor Emeritus


Research Interests:


 

Contact Info:

jardetzky@stanford.edu
CCSR 4145B

Lab Info:


Admin. Assistant Info:




Daniel F. Jarosz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


Research Interests:

Protein conformational switches in evolution, disease, and development; molecular mechanisms driving robustness in complex cellular systems; chemical biology, cell signaling, and quantitative genetics


 

Contact Info:

jarosz@stanford.edu
650-723-8457
CCSR 3145B

Lab Info:

CCSR 3120

Admin. Assistant Info:

Kathy Johnson
kathyj1@stanford.edu
650-724-8098
CCSR 3145

Stuart Kim, Ph.D.

Professor

Joint with the Department of Developmental Biology


Research Interests:

Mechanisms of aging in C. elegans and humans.


 

Contact Info:

stuartkm@stanford.edu
650-725-7671
Beckman 341
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Kim Lab »
Beckman 341
650-725-7612

Admin. Assistant Info:

Kathy Fisher
kmfisher@stanford.edu
650-735-6792
Beckman B300

Brian Kobilka, Ph.D.

Professor

Joint with Molecular and Cellular Physiology


Research Interests:

Structural basis of G protein-coupled receptor signal transduction


 

Contact Info:

kobilka@stanford.edu
(650) 723-7069
157 Beckman Center
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Kobilka Lab »
Beckman Center Rooms 159, 161
(650) 725-7754

Admin. Assistant Info:




Michael Z. Lin, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint with the Departments of Pediatrics and Bioengineering


Research Interests:

Protein engineering applied to sensing or controlling cell biology, including fluorescent proteins, optogenetic actuators, synthetic signaling nodes, and drug-controlled production switches.


 

Contact Info:

mzlin@stanford.edu
650-721-1681
CCSR 2105
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Lin Lab »
CCSR 2100
650-723-2874

Admin. Assistant Info:

Melina Hing
mhing@stanford.edu
650-498-6532
CCSR 2105

Tobias Meyer, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair


Research Interests:

Ca2+, lipid second messenger and small GTPase signaling pathways; Control of cell polarity, chemotaxis, and collective migration as well as cell proliferation and differentiation decisions


 

Contact Info:

tobias1@stanford.edu
Clark W200A
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Meyer Lab »
Clark W200
650-725-7445

Admin. Assistant Info:

Sarah Alexander
salex2@stanford.edu
650-724-2971
Clark W252

Beverly Mitchell, M.D.

Professor

Joint with the Department of Medicine


Research Interests:

Hematopoiesis, trafficking of nucleolar proteins, regulation of ribosomal RNA synthesis, hematopoietic stem cells, leukemogenesis, development of novel therapeutics for leukemias.


 

Contact Info:

bmitchell@stanford.edu
650-725-9621
Lokey Stem Cell Building

Lab Info:

Lokey Stem Cell Building G2165
650-763-0361

Admin. Assistant Info:

Natalie Huen
nhuen@stanford.edu
650-736-7716
Lokey Stem Cell Building G2167

Daria Mochly-Rosen, Ph.D.

Professor


Research Interests:

Protein kinase C signaling in normal & disease states; mitochondrial function and dynamics in normal & disease states; oxidative stress and aldehydic load; protein-protein interaction; drug discovery


 

Contact Info:

mochly@stanford.edu
650-725-7720
CCSR 3140
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Mochly-Rosen Lab »
CCSR 3140
650-725-6026

Admin. Assistant Info:

Kathy Johnson
kathyj1@stanford.edu
650-724-8098
CCSR 3145

Richard Roth, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus


Research Interests:


 

Contact Info:

rroth@stanford.edu
CCSR 4145B

Lab Info:


Admin. Assistant Info:




Jan M. Skotheim, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint with the Department of Biology


Research Interests:

Cell cycle control, maternal to zygotic transition, cell size control, MAPK signaling, systems and quantitative biology


 

Contact Info:

skotheim@stanford.edu
650-721-1160
Lokey Chemistry & Biology
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Skotheim Lab »
Lokey Chemistry & Biology Building 149
650-721-6401

Admin. Assistant Info:

Lisa Pereira
lpereira@stanford.edu
650-723-0419
Lokey Chemistry & Biology Building 144

Aaron F. Straight, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Joint with the Department of Biochemistry


Research Interests:

Chromosome segregation, chromosome structure, centromeres and kinetochores, chromatin dynamics and remodeling, noncoding RNA, cell division, cell size control, microscopy.


 

Contact Info:

astraigh@stanford.edu
650-723-2941
Beckman 409A
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Straight Lab »
Beckman 409
650-723-7718

Admin. Assistant Info:

Crystal Spitale, Laura Wang
cspitale@stanford.edu
650-728-5118
Beckman 400

Mary Teruel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


Research Interests:

Uncovering the molecular mechanisms controlling cell differentiation and its critical role in diabetes, obesity, and cancer; understanding how cell signaling and chromatin interact to decide cell fate


 

Contact Info:

mteruel@stanford.edu
650-721-2045
CCSR 3155B
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Teruel Lab »
CCSR 3135
650-721-2045

Admin. Assistant Info:

Stuart Jeung
stuart7@stanford.edu
650-736-2999
CCSR 3155

Thomas J. Wandless, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Research Interests:

Cellular mechanisms responsible for protein quality control surveillance and degradation; invention of new technologies to enable biomedical research; synthetic chemistry and chemical biology


 

Contact Info:

wandless@stanford.edu
650-723-4005
Clark W350A
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Wandless Lab »
Clark W350
650-725-6859

Admin. Assistant Info:

Stefani Ferreira
sferreir@stanford.edu
650-725-4209
Clark W352

Paul Wender, Ph.D.

Professor

Joint with the Department of Chemistry


Research Interests:

Synthesis, catalysis, drug design, computer modeling, chemical biology, drug delivery, cancer, resistant disease, HIV/AIDS eradication, Alzheimer’s disease, immunotherapy


 

Contact Info:

wenderp@stanford.edu
650-723-0208
Lokey Chemistry & Biology
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Wender Lab »
Lokey Chemistry & Biology Building 207-216
650-723-3898

Admin. Assistant Info:

Kathi Robbins
krobbins@stanford.edu
650-723-0208
Lokey Chemistry & Biology Building 204

Marius Wernig, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint with the Department of Pathology


Research Interests:

Direct lineage reprogramming into neural cell types; Pluripotent stem cells; Human models of disease and gene function; Molecular mechanisms and clinical applications of reprogramming techniques


 

Contact Info:

wernig@stanford.edu
650-721-2495
Lokey Stem Cell Building
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Wernig Lab »
Lory Lokey Stem Cell Building G3145
650-721-6364

Admin. Assistant Info:

Hale Ozemek
haleo@stanford.edu
650-725-9892
Lokey Stem Cell Building G3141

James Whitlock, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus


Research Interests:


 

Contact Info:

jpwhit@stanford.edu

Lab Info:


Admin. Assistant Info:




Joanna Wysocka, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Research Interests:

Epigenetic regulation of development; cis-regulatory elements; chromatin modification and remodeling; stem cell self-renewal and differentiation; neural crest and formation of the human face


 

Contact Info:

wysocka@stanford.edu
650-736-0672
Lokey Stem Cell Building
Stanford CAP Profile »

Lab Info:

Wysocka Lab »
Lokey Stem Cell Building G3065
650-725-6063

Admin. Assistant Info:

Stuart Jeung
stuart7@stanford.edu
650-736-2999
CCSR 3155

 
Previous Previous